When I think BUTTER, I think Steamed Blue Crabs and Spicy Boiled Shrimp!

30 Apr

When I was a little girl, one of my memories of my Florida Granddaddy is when he’s do a crab boil for a family gathering. We put newspaper over the dining table and got out all the crab picking tools, usually just nutcrackers, while he filled the kitchen with the distinct smell of Old Bay seasoning and steaming blue crabs! The discussion would come up, about which kind of drawn butter each person would like. Some liked plain butter, some like butter with lemon juice, and one uncle prefers garlic butter! Here is what they look like before they are cooked:

And here is what they looked like when they are cooked:

We still continue this tradition with my aunts and uncles at Thanksgiving in Charleston, SC every year. Usually on Thursday, the traditional Thanksgiving, every one is still in route, traveling to arrive at the get-together so we do crabs and shrimp that day, later in the evening so everyone has time to arrive. Then we do Turkey Day on Friday, after the shoppers get back with all their goodies from Black Friday shopping.

My favorite food in LIFE is steamed Blue crabs and I always looked forward to our crazy family tradition of crabs at Thanksgiving! Personally I like MY BUTTER plain!

Uncle Mark also steams a bunch of Charleston fresh shrimp, too, for the ones who don’t like picking crabs. He got some really big ones last year!

Believe me, that was not all the butter we used! I think we had to reheat butter twice and went thru about a pound and a half for all 12 of us! There’s always a ton of laughing and a contest on who can clean crabs the best! A great time was had by all!

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position) and I am not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Products received from advertiser are only used for experienced-based reviews. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of myself.

Leave a Reply

