BISON For Dinner Anyone?

1 Oct

My Husband was from North Dakota so we spent at least one vacation per year visiting family in North and South Dakota over the past 20 years or so. I have gotten to see buffalo as they graze on the prairies and hills in Custer Park and the Theodore Roosevelt National Park. You drive thru the parks and often have to wait for a stubborn buffalo to move out of the road so we could continue on. I have had Buffalo Burgers several times on our travels and always enjoyed them. So when I was offered a chance to make a meal with Bison I signed up right away! Buffalo is a very lean meat, not very strong tasting but flavorful. I do not find it gamey tasting at all and I think if you didn’t tell anyone what it was, I don’t think they could guess that it was BISON!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA                                                                                                            http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Italian-Layered-Salad-with-Bison-Pepperoni

If you happened to be lucky enough to already have Bison available in your area…here is what the package looks like:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or you can visit  http://www.highplainsbison.com/  see all the different Bison cuts available and you can order from there.

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com. Product received from an Advertiser is only used for experience based reviews on this site. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Cindy Lepp.

Leave a Reply

